

# ASIA & OCEANIA **FEDERATION** OF OBSTETRICS & GYNAECOLOGY

28<sup>th</sup> November 2022

Dr. Hrishikesh Pal President-FOGSI India

Dear Dr. Hrishikesh Pal,

## "MIZUNO-RATNAM YOUNG GYNAECOLOGIST AWARD (YGA)" AOFOG CONGRESS 2024, BUSAN, KOREA (MAY 17<sup>TH</sup> -21<sup>ST</sup>)

One of the more satisfying activities of the Federation has been the YGA initiated in 1991 through the generous support of the National Societies, Foundations and industry. Initially, the award was restricted to 8 countries but following the Bangalore General Assembly in 2002, the award is now open to all 28 member countries but only those coming from 20 member countries\* will be funded by the Federation. Please note that member countries in subscription arrears for more than 3 years are not eligible.

The Federation has been able to award about 35-40 positions for each Congress. It is hoped that this award will provide the opportunity to young and committed members of National Societies to attend the Congress, interact with peers and Officers of the Federation and involve themselves in future activities of the Federation.

The YGAs are required to present their papers either in the special YGA Session or as a Free Communication. The 10 YGAs selected to present during the special YGA Session will be judged by a panel and the Executive Board is pleased announce that the top 3 winners will receive USD3000 (Prof Sir Sabaratnam Arulkumaran Prize), USD2000 and USD1000 respectively which will be presented during the Congress Banquet.

All YGAs are also required to attend the Opening Ceremony, Closing Ceremony, General Assembly, President's Night and Congress Banquet.

Please refer to the AOFOG website (aofog.net) under Admin Manual pages 37-42 for details on Eligibility, Selection Criteria and YGA activities during the AOFOG Congress.

The Federation hereby invites your National Society to submit 2-3 nominations for this award. The nominations must be accompanied by the full paper, Times New Roman font size 12) with a CV and a cover letter from the Principal / Presenting author stating any sources of funding, conflict of interest and that the paper has not been previously presented or published in any Regional or International Meeting.

## Please note that the closing date for nominations is 15<sup>th</sup> November 2023

The Organising Committee of the AOFOG Congress 2024 is also offering a Community Fellowship Programme (CFP).

Please refer to the AOFOG website under Admin Manual page 42 which gives an overall outline of the Programme. The Programme details will be circulated in due course.

#### **Executive Board**

President: Professor Pisake Lumbiganon Thailand

Vice-President: Professor Tsung-Hsien Su

**Immediate Past President:** Professor Kazunori Ochiai Japan

President Elect: Dr John Tait **New Zealand** 

Secretary-General Dr. Rohana Haththotuwa Sri Lanka

**Deputy Secretary-General** Professor Krishnendu Gupta India

Treasurer Professor Joong-Shin Park Korea

Editor-in-Chief, JOGR Professor Kiyoko Kato Japan

**Council Representative** Dr. Christia Padolina **Philippines** 

### **Committee Chairs**

Minimally Invasive Gynaecologic Surgery Professor Tsukasa Baba (Japan)

Maternal & Fetal Medicine Dr. U.D.P. Ratnasiri (Sri Lanka)

Oncology Dr. Tse, Ka Yu (Hong Kong)

Sexual & Reproductive Health Professor Unnop Jaisamrarn (Thailand)

Reproductive Endocrinology Dr Huang Zhongwei (Singapore)

Ultrasound

Dr. Voon Hian Yan (Malaysia)

Urogynaecology

Dr. Thomas Man-Jung Hung (Taiwan)

Fellowship Selection Professor Pak-Chung Ho (Hong Kong)

YGAA Committee Dr. Jaydeep Tank (India) Please indicate which of your nominated YGAs are able to participate in the CFP. In general, only one (1) YGA will be selected from each eligible National Society but more may be offered depending on the Host Society.

Yours sincerely,

Dr. Rohana Haththotuwa

Secretary General -AOFOG

\*Bangladesh, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Papua New Guinea, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Macau, Pakistan, Cambodia, China, Fiji, Laos & Vietnam

Cc: 1. Secretary NS

- 2. Council Representative NS
- 3. Prof. Pisake Lumbiganon- President AOFOG
- 4. Dr. John Tait- President Elect AOFOG / Officer-in -charge YGA